Three placements, three depth problems
Where the launch monitor sits decides how much of the room it uses. That one choice matters more than the brand.
| Placement | Units | What the depth must hold |
|---|---|---|
| Behind the ball (radar) | Garmin R10, Rapsodo MLM2PRO, FlightScope Mevo+ and Mevo Gen2, Voice Caddie SC4 Pro, Trackman 4 | Stated distance behind the ball plus stated ball flight to the net |
| Beside the ball (camera) | Garmin R50, Bushnell Launch Pro, Foresight GC3 and GCQuad, Uneekor EYE MINI, SkyTrak+, Square Golf | Backswing plus ball flight; the unit adds width, not depth |
| Overhead (ceiling) | Uneekor EYE XO2, Trackman iO | Same as beside the ball, plus a stated mounting height |
Will it fit your room?
Set your room with the width, depth and ceiling sliders, pick where the launch monitor sits, and open the bay up to see each part. The checker compares your room with each maker’s figure and says “meets stated” or “below stated”; that is a comparison with maker figures, not a rating of the bay.
Example: a 13 × 16 × 9 ft (4 × 4.9 × 2.7 m) garage meets the stated figures of the Uneekor EYE MINI (12 ft deep and 13 ft wide, generic) and the Garmin R10 at its closest setting (6 ft behind plus 8 ft to the net, 14 ft, our sum). It is below the figures Trackman recommends for a Trackman 4 bay (18 × 15 × 10 ft, 5.5 × 4.6 × 3 m) and below Bushnell’s recommended 18 × 12 × 9 ft (5.5 × 3.7 × 2.7 m) simulation room.
The room size calculator runs the same check with width, depth and ceiling sliders and lists every unit in this guide.
What each maker states
Quotes are as published on the maker’s own page or manual. “Rec.” means recommended, “min.” means minimum, “generic” means the maker’s bay guide is not specific to the model, and “derived” means our sum. Hover or tap a dot for the quote, source and read date; “More columns” adds the stated distance behind the tee, ball flight, battery and weight. “Not stated” means the maker gives no figure.
11 of 11 units
High confidence: read on the manufacturer page maker page or manual Medium confidence: manufacturer domain via search snippet maker domain via search snippet rec. = recommended · generic = a brand bay guide, not model-specific · derived = our sum of stated figures · ltd. flight = limited-flight setup · tiles are illustrative
| CameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Beside | 18 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 12 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 9 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | Not stated | Sub requiredHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | not stated | 6 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 2.3 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | Foresight app, FSX / Foresight Premier, GSPro ('Requires active Gold Membership') | Info only | |
| Radar + cameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Behind | 16 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagederived, ltd. flight | not stated | not stated | Marked ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | No sub neededHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 9 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemax. stated | 8 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagelimited flight | 6 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 0.5 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | “8 feet” | FS Golf app (iOS 17+, Android 12+, Windows 10/11 64-bit), E6 Connect (TruGolf), Awesome Golf, GSPro | Info only | |
| Radar + cameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Behind | 22 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagederived | not stated | not stated | Marked ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | No sub neededHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 9 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemax. stated | 13 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 3 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 0.5 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | “7-9 feet sensor to tee distance” | FS Golf app (iOS 17+, Android 12+, Windows 10/11 64-bit), E6 Connect, Awesome Golf, GSPro | Info only | |
| RadarHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Behind | 16 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagederived | not stated | not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 8 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemax. stated | 8 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemin. | 10 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | “Place the launch monitor on the ground between 6 ft. and 8 ft. (1.8 m and 2.4 m) behind the tee location.” | Garmin Golf app, Home Tee Hero, third-party simulator apps (pending verification) | Info only | |
| Radar + cameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Behind | 14 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 14 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric | Marked ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Not stated | 8.5 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemax. stated | 8 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemin. | not stated | not stated | “designed to sit 6.5-8.5 feet directly behind the ball” | MLM2PRO app (iOS/Android), GSPro, E6 Connect / E6 Apex, Awesome Golf, Rapsodo Combine / Courses / Range | Info only | |
| Radar + cameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Beside | 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric | 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric | Not stated | Not stated | not stated | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemin. | 4 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 0.8 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | SKYTRAK app (PC Win10 64-bit, macOS M1+, iOS M1+, Android), SKYTRAK Lite | Info only | |
| Radar + cameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Overhead | not stated | 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | Any ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Not stated | not stated | 8.2 ftMedium confidence: manufacturer domain via search snippetmin. | mains | 3.9 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | Trackman Virtual Golf / Trackman Performance Studio (software page), third-party simulators (pending verification) | Info only | |
| Radar + cameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Behind | 18 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | Not stated | Not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Trackman Performance Studio, Virtual Golf | Info only | |
| CameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Beside | 12 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric | 13 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric | not stated | Any ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Sub requiredHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemin. | 7 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 3.6 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | VIEW (PC), VIEW Air (iPad, iPadOS 14+), third-party via Pro Package | Info only | |
| CameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Overhead | 16 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 13 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec. | Any ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Sub requiredHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemin. | mains | 13.6 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | not stated | VIEW, Refine / Refine+, third-party connector (Pro+), GAMEDAY (Ultimate) | Info only | |
| RadarHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | Behind | not stated | not stated | not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 5 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemax. stated | not stated | 10 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | 0.6 kgHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page | “5 ft behind the ball on the same level as the ball” | VoiceCaddie S app, VC Manager (PC/Mac), E6 Connect / Optishot Orion | Info only |
Launch Pro
- Placement
- Beside
- Depth
- 18 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Width
- 12 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Ceiling
- 9 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Spin
- Not stated
- 3rd-party sims
- Sub requiredHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Mevo (Gen2)
- Placement
- Behind
- Depth
- 16 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagederived, ltd. flight
- Width
- not stated
- Ceiling
- not stated
- Spin
- Marked ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
- 3rd-party sims
- No sub neededHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Mevo+
- Placement
- Behind
- Depth
- 22 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagederived
- Width
- not stated
- Ceiling
- not stated
- Spin
- Marked ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
- 3rd-party sims
- No sub neededHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Approach R10
- Placement
- Behind
- Depth
- 16 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagederived
- Width
- not stated
- Ceiling
- not stated
- Spin
- Not stated
- 3rd-party sims
- Not stated
MLM2PRO
- Placement
- Behind
- Depth
- 14 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
- Width
- 14 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
- Ceiling
- 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
- Spin
- Marked ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
- 3rd-party sims
- Not stated
SkyTrak+ (ST+)
- Placement
- Beside
- Depth
- 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
- Width
- 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
- Ceiling
- 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
- Spin
- Not stated
- 3rd-party sims
- Not stated
iO
- Placement
- Overhead
- Depth
- not stated
- Width
- 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Ceiling
- 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Spin
- Any ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
- 3rd-party sims
- Not stated
Trackman 4
- Placement
- Behind
- Depth
- 18 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Width
- 15 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Ceiling
- 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Spin
- Not stated
- 3rd-party sims
- Not stated
EYE MINI
- Placement
- Beside
- Depth
- 12 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
- Width
- 13 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
- Ceiling
- not stated
- Spin
- Any ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
- 3rd-party sims
- Sub requiredHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
EYE XO2
- Placement
- Overhead
- Depth
- 16 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Width
- 13 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Ceiling
- 10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagerec.
- Spin
- Any ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
- 3rd-party sims
- Sub requiredHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Swing Caddie SC4 Pro
- Placement
- Behind
- Depth
- not stated
- Width
- not stated
- Ceiling
- not stated
- Spin
- Not stated
- 3rd-party sims
- Not stated
Pending verification, not in the table: SkyTrak ST MAX. Only retailer listings stated its specs on 8 Oct 2026; it returns when the maker publishes them.
Garmin R50, Foresight GC3 and GCQuad, Square Golf and Full Swing KIT state no room size on the pages read. Full specs for all 18 models in the table.
