Compare · 4 min read

Garmin Approach R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO by the numbers

Illustration: Radar waves and a camera field of view track a golf ball.
Illustrative. Radar behind the ball against a camera view.

The short answer

Both sit on the ground behind the ball. Garmin states 6–8 ft (1.8–2.4 m) behind the tee and Rapsodo 6.5–8.5 ft (2–2.6 m), with 8 ft (2.4 m) to the net for both. Rapsodo states a total depth of a little more than 14 ft (4.3 m); Garmin states none, and our sum is 14–16 ft (4.3–4.9 m).

  • Same ball-to-net figure: 8 ft (2.4 m). Rapsodo sits 0.5 ft (0.15 m) farther back (derived).
  • Only Rapsodo states a total depth (a little more than 14 ft, 4.3 m) and names spin and software requirements.
  • Only Garmin states a battery figure (up to 10 h) and a hitting area (2 × 2 ft, 0.6 × 0.6 m).
  • 6–8 ft1.8–2.4 m · stated: Garmin R10 behind the tee
  • 6.5–8.5 ft2–2.6 m · stated: Rapsodo MLM2PRO behind the ball
  • 8 ft2.4 m · stated: ball to net, both (Garmin “at least”)
  • 14 ft+4.3 m+ · stated: Rapsodo total depth; Garmin states none (our sum 14–16 ft)

maker manual or page · read 8 Oct 2026. Sources

On this page (7)
  1. Side by side
  2. Maker quotes
  3. What the numbers mean for a buyer
  4. Who should pick which
  5. Ready to pick one?
  6. FAQ
  7. Sources

Side by side, as each maker states it

SpecApproach R10GarminMLM2PRORapsodo
TechnologyRadarHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pageRadar + cameraHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
PlacementBehind6⁠–⁠8 ft (1.8⁠–⁠2.4 m) behind the teeBehind6.5⁠–⁠8.5 ft (1.98⁠–⁠2.59 m) behind the tee
Unit to tee8 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemax. stated8.5 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemax. stated
Tee to net8 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemin.8 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagemin.
Depth16 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagederived14 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Widthnot stated14 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
Ceilingnot stated10 ftHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagegeneric
SpinNot statedMarked ballHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
3rd-party simsNot statedNot stated
Battery10 hHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer pagenot stated
Weightnot statednot stated
BuyInfo onlyInfo only

Maker quotes, side by side

Quotes are as published in Garmin’s owner’s manual and on Rapsodo’s product page, read 8 Oct 2026. Garmin’s product page body was not readable, so the manual is the source.

SpecGarmin Approach R10Rapsodo MLM2PRODifference
Technology“radar features”“Dual optical camera vision + radar processing”Radar versus radar plus cameras
Placement“between 6 ft. and 8 ft. (1.8 m and 2.4 m) behind the tee location”“6.5-8.5 feet directly behind the ball”Rapsodo sits 0.5 ft (0.15 m) farther back at both ends (derived)
Ball to net, indoors“at least 8 ft. (2.4 m) away from the net when playing indoors”“8 feet is needed from ball to the net”Same figure; Garmin states it as a minimum
Total depthNot stated; our sum is 14–16 ft (4.3–4.9 m)“A little more than 14 total feet is needed.”Rapsodo states a total; Garmin’s is derived
Hitting area2 × 2 ft (0.6 × 0.6 m), starting 6 ft (1.8 m) from the unitnot statedOnly Garmin states one
Ball dataPending (retailer sheet only)Distance, carry, side carry, speed, launch angle and direction, descent angle, apex, shot type, spin rate, spin axisOnly Rapsodo’s list is maker-sourced
Club dataPending (retailer sheet only)Club speed, club path, angle of attack, smash factorOnly Rapsodo’s list is maker-sourced
Spin needsNot stated in the manual“Golf balls with RPT are required to show spin numbers.”Rapsodo needs marked balls for spin
Battery“Battery life Up to 10 hr.”not statedOnly Garmin states hours
SubscriptionGarmin Golf membership for virtual courses and a weekly tournament“45-Day Trial Premium Membership included with purchase”Both have a membership; Rapsodo’s trial converts automatically
Software namesNot in the manual (pending)“fully-integrated with GSPro”; E6 Connect and E6 Apex; Awesome GolfOnly Rapsodo names them on its page
Phone appGarmin Golf appMLM2PRO app (iOS and Android)Both
Size and weightnot statednot statedNeither is sourced

What the numbers mean for a buyer

  • Room depth. Both state the same 8 ft (2.4 m) to the net. The MLM2PRO sits 0.5 ft (0.15 m) farther back at both ends of its range (derived). Rapsodo’s own total is “a little more than 14 total feet”; the Garmin sum of its two figures is 14–16 ft (4.3–4.9 m), our arithmetic. Run both in the room size calculator.
  • Spin. Rapsodo states that spin is shown only with RPT balls. Garmin’s manual does not say what spin needs, and its spin metric appears only on a retailer sheet, so it is pending here.
  • Subscription. Rapsodo’s trial charges the card automatically unless cancelled. Garmin’s membership is stated for virtual rounds and tournaments; the manual does not tie third-party simulator use to it.
  • Battery. Only Garmin states a figure: up to 10 h.

No claim is made about accuracy, consistency or indoor spin quality for either unit.

Who should pick which

Scenarios decided by a stated spec only.

ScenarioSpec that decidesPoints to
Wants GSPro or E6 named on the maker’s pageSoftware listMLM2PRO
Wants a stated battery figure“Battery life Up to 10 hr.”Approach R10
Wants a stated total room depth“A little more than 14 total feet”MLM2PRO
Wants a stated hitting area2 × 2 ft (0.6 × 0.6 m)Approach R10
Wants to avoid marked ballsSpin requirementNot decided: Garmin states none, but its spin source is pending

Ready to pick one?

A starting point from the table, by stated spec. Each is a maker-stated fit, not a ranking.

Garmin

Approach R10

Best for a 14–16 ft (4.3–4.9 m) deep room, our sum
  • 6⁠–⁠8 ft behind + 8 ft
  • Battery up to 10 h
  • Behind the ball

Check first: Garmin states no width or ceiling height.

garmin.com, read 8 Oct 2026

Info only · no shop link

Full specs
Rapsodo

MLM2PRO

Best for a stated total depth of about 14 ft
  • 6.5⁠–⁠8.5 ft behind + 8 ft
  • Depth 14 ft
  • Behind the ball

Check first: The 45-day Premium trial converts to a charge unless cancelled.

rapsodo.com, read 8 Oct 2026

Info only · no shop link

Full specs

Compare all 18 in the table →

Questions people ask

Do both work indoors with a net?

Both state 8 ft (2.4 m) from ball to net: Garmin as a minimum, Rapsodo as “8 feet is needed from ball to the net.”

Which needs a subscription?

Both have a membership. Garmin's is stated for virtual rounds and tournaments; Rapsodo includes a 45-day trial that converts to a charge unless cancelled. Neither page states that third-party simulators require it.

Is one more accurate?

This site has no test data and makes no accuracy claim for either unit.

Sources (3)

  1. Garmin Approach R10 Owner's Manual (EN-US) · read 8 Oct 2026 · high
  2. MLM2PRO page on rapsodo.com · read 8 Oct 2026 · high
  3. Rapsodo: recommended ceiling height for a golf simulator (blog) · read 8 Oct 2026 · high
GolfSimIndex Editorial Team

We read each maker’s manual and spec page and record the quote, URL and date. GolfSimIndex does not test hardware or score units. Methodology · Corrections

Related guides