Spec sheet · 3 min read

Garmin Approach R50 specs

The short answer

Garmin's manual says to place the Approach R50 about 1.5 ft (0.5 m) to the side of the tee, so it adds width, not depth. Garmin states no distance to the net and no room size. Battery life is stated as up to 4 h, and club data needs a club sticker.

  • Placement: “approximately 1.5 ft. (0.5 m) to the side of the tee location” (manual, stated).
  • Technology: the manual says the features “use internal cameras to record measurements”; a press-release snippet (medium) says 3 high-speed cameras.
  • Not stated: tee-to-net distance, room width and ceiling height.
  • 1.5 ft0.5 m · stated: unit beside the tee
  • 4 hstated: battery life, up to
  • 15+stated: ball and club metrics (press release)
  • 3stated: high-speed cameras (press release)

maker manual or page support snippet · read 8 Oct 2026. Sources

On this page (9)
  1. Specs
  2. Will it fit?
  3. Maker’s words
  4. Room and placement
  5. Data and what it requires
  6. Subscription and software
  7. Ready to pick one?
  8. FAQ
  9. Sources

Stated specs

Check first: Garmin's manual gives no tee-to-net distance or room size, so a room fit cannot be checked from Garmin figures.

Placement and room

Technology
photometric
Placement
Beside the ball, 1.6 ft (0.5 m) to the side of the ball
Tee to screen or net
not stated
Room depth
not stated
Room width
not stated
Ceiling
not stated
Room figures, read as
largest figure the maker states or recommends
Hitting zone
shown on device display; 'The shape of the hitting area varies depending on whether club data is enabled.' in

What it measures

Ball data
ball speed, launch angle, spin rate (measured), spin axis (measured), carry distance, total distance, apex height
Club data
club head speed, smash factor, club data per press release ('more than 15 ball and club metrics')
Club data needs
club stickers (manual: 'In order to track club data, you need to apply one of the included club stickers to the face of the club')
Spin needs
no marked ball stated; 'measured spin rate and spin axis' (press release)

Software and subscription

Subscription
Garmin Golf membership required for virtual rounds / on-course practice (manual)
Third-party simulators
Not stated
Software named
built-in simulator (10-inch display, 43,000+ courses), GSPro, Awesome Golf, E6 Connect/Apex ('coming soon' in Nov 2024 release)

Hardware

Power
internal battery + AC adapter (manual: Battery and Power Settings)
Battery
Battery, up to 4 h
Size (in)
not stated
Weight
not stated
Status
current

Info only · no shop link

We have no shop link for this unit. Every figure above comes from the maker’s own page or manual.

Will it fit your room?

Needs: depth not stated · width not stated · ceiling not stated

Open the full room checker for every unit →

Specs in the maker’s words

Values are as the maker states them. “Recommended”, “generic”, “derived” and “medium” are marked where they apply.

SpecAs stated by the maker
TechnologyCameras (manual: “internal cameras”)
PlacementBeside the tee
Unit to tee“approximately 1.5 ft. (0.5 m) to the side of the tee location”
Tee to net or screennot stated
Stated roomnot stated
Hitting zoneShown on the device display; shape varies with club data
Battery“Battery life Up to 4 hr.”
Size and weightnot stated
Spin and club data needsClub sticker needed for club data; no marked ball stated
SubscriptionGarmin Golf membership for virtual rounds

Row confidence: medium. At least one key field comes from a press release, a regional page or a search snippet; the sections below say which.

Room and placement

The manual states: “You must place the launch monitor approximately 1.5 ft. (0.5 m) to the side of the tee location.” The unit adds width, not depth.

The manual text states no distance from the tee to the net, no room size and no ceiling height. Retailer guides give a net distance; this site does not use retailer figures.

Run your own room against these figures in the room size calculator, or read the room size guide.

Data and what it requires

A press-release snippet (medium) states “more than 15 ball and club metrics, including measured spin rate and spin axis”. Listed ball data: ball speed, launch angle, spin rate, spin axis, carry distance, total distance, apex height.

Club data: “In order to track club data, you need to apply one of the included club stickers to the face of the club you are using.” Club metrics listed: club head speed and smash factor.

Subscription and software

The manual states: “To play a virtual round or practice on a virtual course, you need a Garmin Golf™ membership”.

A press-release snippet (medium) names “GSPro, E6 Connect/Apex (coming soon) and Awesome Golf”. The dataset also notes a built-in simulator with a 10-inch display and 43,000+ courses (medium).

Subscription terms for every unit are side by side in the subscriptions guide.

Ready to pick one?

A starting point from the table, by stated spec. Each is a maker-stated fit, not a ranking.

Bushnell

Launch Pro

Best for a 9 ft (2.7 m) ceiling
  • Depth 18 ft rec.
  • Width 12 ft rec.
  • Beside the ball

Check first: 18 × 12 × 9 ft (5.5 × 3.7 × 2.7 m) is the recommended simulator room.

bushnellgolf.com, read 8 Oct 2026

Info only · no shop link

Full specs
Uneekor

EYE MINI

Best for shallow rooms
  • Depth 12 ft generic
  • Width 13 ft generic
  • Beside the ball

Check first: Width if you are 6 ft (1.8 m) or taller: 15 ft (4.6 m).

uneekor.com, read 8 Oct 2026

Info only · no shop link

Full specs

Compare all 18 in the table →

Questions people ask

Where does the Garmin Approach R50 sit?

About 1.5 ft (0.5 m) to the side of the tee, per the manual. It adds width, not depth.

Does the R50 need club stickers?

For club data, yes: the manual says to apply one of the included club stickers to the club face. No marked ball is stated.

How long does the R50 battery last?

Garmin's manual states “Battery life Up to 4 hr.”

Sources (2)

  1. Garmin Approach R50 Owner's Manual (EN-US) · read 8 Oct 2026 · high
  2. Garmin newsroom press release for the Approach R50 (search snippet) · read 8 Oct 2026 · medium
GolfSimIndex Editorial Team

We read each maker’s manual and spec page and record the quote, URL and date. GolfSimIndex does not test hardware or score units. Methodology · Corrections

Related guides